Notifications
Clear all

Copyright Issue -------File a Compliant for Scientific Misconduct on Former Mentor?

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@sir-tim-hunt)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Dear Forum,

Recently, my former PI of 12 years copied two figures from my copyrighted and published dissertation. He then published these figures in a recent publication without giving me authorship. This publication was published in October of 2019. The dissertation was published and copyrighted in 2011. Further, the PI did not ask my permission to use these figures and he was aware of the dissertation being published. He was also provided all original electronic figures in all publications where I was an author and hard copies of the dissertation in 2011 when I left his employment. Most of the dissertation was published shortly before leaving his employment in 2012. I worked for him at one University and got my degree at another University close by. The degree granting University issued me a copyright on the dissertation and it is mine to defend (I have confirmed this with the University and a well educated copyright attorney).